Release Date: August 9, 2014

Status: Returning Series

Seasons: 7

Episodes: 75

Running time: 1h

Content Rating: TV-MA

Filming Locations: Doune Castle · Scotland · England, United Kingdom · Czech Republic

/ 10
39 User Ratings
IMDb ratings

Check on Amazon

External Links & Social Media
Network & Production Companies
Sony Pictures Television
Left Bank Pictures
Watch Trailer


The story of Claire Randall, a married combat nurse from 1945 who is mysteriously swept back in time to 1743, where she is immediately thrown into an unknown world where her life is threatened. When she is forced to marry Jamie, a chivalrous and romantic young Scottish warrior, a passionate affair is ignited that tears Claire's heart between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

Where To Watch.

Apple iTunesBuy
Google Play MoviesBuy
Microsoft StoreBuy
Starz Play Amazon ChannelSubs
The Roku ChannelAds
Spectrum On DemandSubs
Starz Roku Premium ChannelSubs

Currently Outlander is available for streaming online, rent, buy or watch for free on: Apple iTunes, Google Play Movies, Redbox, Netflix, Starz, Microsoft Store, Starz Play Amazon Channel, The Roku Channel, DIRECTV, Spectrum On Demand, Starz Roku Premium Channel

Streaming in:
🇺🇸 United States

Powered by

This TV show Is About.

18th century
time travel
based on novel or book

Cast & Crew.


Outlander is a historical drama television series based on the ongoing novel series of the same name by Diana Gabaldon. Developed by Ronald D. Moore, the show premiered on August 9, 2014, on Starz. It stars Caitríona Balfe as Claire Randall, a married former Second World War military nurse in Scotland who, in 1945, finds herself transported back in time to 1743. There she encounters, falls in love with, and marries a dashing Highland warrior named Jamie Fraser (Sam Heughan), a Tacksman of Gabaldon's fictionalized version of Clan Fraser of Lovat, and becomes embroiled in the Jacobite rising.

The 16-episode first season of the television series (released as two half-seasons) is based on the first novel in the series, Outlander (known as Cross Stitch in the United Kingdom). The second season of 13 episodes, based on Dragonfly in Amber, aired from April to July 2016. The 13-episode third season, based on Voyager, aired from September to December 2017. The 13-episode fourth season, based on Drums of Autumn, aired from November 2018 to January 2019. The fifth season of 12 episodes, based on The Fiery Cross, aired from February to May 2020.

The series has been renewed for an 8-episode sixth season and a 16-episode seventh season to be based on A Breath of Snow and Ashes and An Echo in the Bone, respectively. The sixth season premiered on March 6, 2022. In February 2022, it was reported that a prequel series is in the works.


Contact Us
Terms and Conditions
Affiliate Disclosure
Privacy Policy
Social Media
iOS Application
Android Application